Press Release

Following Her Push, Gillibrand Successfully Adds Reauthorization And Expansion Of The Northern Border Regional Commission To Senate Farm Bill

Jun 18, 2018

Washington, DC – U.S. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand, a member of the Senate Agriculture Committee, today announced that after her push, the Northern Border Regional Commission Reauthorization Act was included as an amendment to the Senate Farm Bill that just passed out of the Senate Agriculture Committee. The Northern Border Regional Commission (NBRC) is a federal-state partnership that invests in economic and community development projects throughout the North Country and Central New York, as well as in rural communities in other states in the Northeast. This provision would reauthorize the NBRC for an additional five years to continue to bring critical federal investment to economic development projects in these regions. Additionally, the provision would establish a state capacity-building grant program to help develop projects that support business retention and expansion, increase access to high-speed internet, invest in critical infrastructure development, and promote job creation. The NBRC’s authorization is set to expire this year without Congressional action.

“The Northern Border Regional Commission has encouraged job growth and economic development in communities all over the North Country and Central New York,” said Senator Gillibrand. “I was proud to fight for this reauthorization because it would allow the NBRC to continue supporting New York businesses and investing in projects that provide essential services and create jobs throughout our state. Now that this important provision has been included in this year’s Farm Bill, I look forward to working with my colleagues in the full Senate to ensure its final passage.”

From 2010 to 2017, the NBRC has invested over $57.6 million throughout New York. The NBRC region in New York State includes St. Lawrence, Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Cayuga, Oneida, Oswego, and Seneca counties. Gillibrand was an original cosponsor of the Northern Border Regional Commission Reauthorization Act, which was introduced by U.S. Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) and also cosponsored by U.S. Senators Susan Collins (R-ME), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Angus King (I-ME), and Maggie Hassan (D-NH). Senator Gillibrand worked with Senator Leahy on the amendment to include the NBRC in the Senate Farm Bill, which is now expected to head to the full Senate for a vote.