Press Release

Gillibrand Announces Full List Of 46 Original Co-Sponsors For New Bipartisan Military Justice Improvement And Increasing Prevention Act

Apr 29, 2021

Following the announcement of the new bipartisan Military Justice Improvement and Increasing Prevention Act, U.S. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand announced the full list of original co-sponsors, which includes 46 senators, including 34 Democrats, 2 Independents and 10 Republicans. Gillibrand unveiled the bill earlier today outside the U.S. Capitol, alongside U.S. Senators Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), and Mark Kelly (D-AZ), President of Protect Our Defenders Colonel Don Christensen, USAF (ret.), survivor Amy Marsh, and IAVA Executive Vice President Tom Porter.

The full list of co-sponsors includes: Gillibrand (D-NY), Grassley (R-IA), Ernst (R-IA), Blumenthal (D-CT), Baldwin (D-WI), Van Hollen (D-MD), King (I-ME), Braun (R-IN), Durbin (D-IL), Shaheen (D-NH), Duckworth (D-IL), Bennet (D-CO), Paul (R-KY), Coons (D-DE), Kelly (D-AZ), Leahy (D-VT), Padilla (D-CA), Wyden (D-OR), Hirono (D-HI), Warren (D-MA), Menendez (D-NJ), Cruz (R-TX), Klobuchar (D-MN), Feinstein (D-CA), Hassan (D-NH), Lummis (R-WY), Peters (D-MI), Capito (R-WV), Kaine (D-VA), T. Smith (D-MN), Casey (D-PA), Warnock (D-GA), Cortez Masto (D-NV), Tuberville (R-AL), Heinrich (D-NM), Brown (D-OH), Hickenlooper (D-CO), Warner (D-VA), Collins (R-ME), Booker (D-NJ), Merkley (D-OR), Tester (D-MT), Cassidy (R-LA), Ossoff (D-GA), Schatz (D-HI) and Sanders (I-VT).

The Military Justice Improvement and Increasing Prevention Act takes important, commonsense steps to deliver justice for survivors of serious crimes and prevent sexual assault in our armed forces,” said Senator Kirsten Gillibrand. “I am incredibly proud of this robust bipartisan coalition that we could have never reached without my passionate and relentless colleagues on both sides of the aisle. This is a defining moment and Congress is ready to deliver.”