Press Release

Gillibrand, Schumer Introduce Legislation To Name Lansingburgh Post Office After Martin G. Mahar

Feb 22, 2010

Washington, DC – U.S. Senators Kirsten Gillibrand and Charles E. Schumer today introduced legislation that would rename the Post Office in Lansingburgh after Martin G. “Marty” Mahar. Congressman Paul Tonko introduced HR. 4425 last month.

“Marty Mahar represented the very best of Troy and all of New York,” Senator Gillibrand said. “He served his community and country with honor, integrity and dignity. Naming the Lansingburgh Post Office after him will honor his legacy in the community he loved and served so well.”

“Marty Mahar deserves to be honored for his lifetime of service to our country and to the people of New York,” Senator Schumer said. “Naming this post office in his memory will allow the citizens of Troy to remember his great example of courage and patriotism.”

“Marty was truly a public servant whose leadership and selflessness should be a model for us all,” said Rep. Paul Tonko.  “From his dedication in serving our country as a Marine during World War II to his service in the postal service and our community, I am honored to take a lead role, alongside Senator Schumer and Senator Gillibrand, in renaming this post office in Marty’s honor.”

Mr. Mahar was born, raised, and lived in Troy, New York for most of his life. He served in World War II as a Marine in the Asiatic-Pacific Theater.  For his tour of duty, he received four Battle Stars, a Presidential Unit Citation, and a Purple Heart (at Iwo Jima). He was in the inaugural class of the New York State Senate Veterans Hall of Fame. After serving his country, he was involved in many veterans’ organizations. 

Mr. Mahar joined the United States Postal Service as a letter carrier in 1955.  He retired in 1983 and had a long career serving as a member of the National Association of Letter Carriers (NALC). 

Mr. Mahar was also a respected community leader.  He was Mayor of Troy from 1990-1991.  He was also a member of the Troy City Council for 10 years.