Press Release

Gillibrand, Schumer, Tonko Announce Final Passage Of Martin G. ‘Marty’ Mahar Post Office Building

May 26, 2010

Washington, DC – U. S. Senators Kirsten Gillibrand and Charles E. Schumer announced final passage their legislation to rename the Lasinburgh Post Office in Troy in honor of World War II Veteran Martin G. ‘Marty’ Mahar who passed away in 2007 after a distinguished life as a soldier, veteran and community leader. Congressman Paul Tonko sponsored a companion version of the legislation in the U.S. House of Representatives.

 “Marty Mahar represented the very best of Troy and all of New York,” Senator Gillibrand said. “He served his community and country with honor, integrity and dignity. Naming the Lansingburgh Post Office after him will honor his legacy in the community he loved and served so well.”

“Marty Mahar deserves to be honored for his lifetime of service to our country and to the people of the Capital Region,” Senator Schumer said. “Naming this post office in his memory will allow the citizens of Troy to remember his great example of courage and patriotism.”

“Marty Mahar was truly a public servant who put his country and his community before himself,” said Congressman Paul Tonko. “Naming the Lansingburgh Post Office after him will honor his legacy and serve as a reminder of his leadership, dedication, and selflessness.”

Mr. Mahar was born, raised, and lived in Troy, New York for most of his life. He served in World War II as a Marine in the Asiatic-Pacific Theater. For his tour of duty, he received four Battle Stars, a Presidential Unit Citation, and a Purple Heart (at Iwo Jima). He was in the inaugural class of the New York State Senate Veterans Hall of Fame. After serving his country, he was involved in many veterans’ organizations.

Mr. Mahar joined the United States Postal Service as a letter carrier in 1955. He retired in 1983 and had a long career serving as a member of the National Association of Letter Carriers (NALC).

Mr. Mahar was also a respected community leader. He was Mayor of Troy from 1990-1991. He was also a member of the Troy City Council for 10 years.