Press Release

Gillibrand, Senate Colleagues Reintroduce Legislation To Promote Climate Change Literacy

Feb 15, 2019

Washington, DC – U.S. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand today announced the reintroduction of the Climate Change Education Act, legislation that would create a grant program for local education agencies, higher education institutions, and professional associations to educate students and teachers on climate change. The bill would also establish a Climate Change Education Office within the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) to administer the grant program. 

“Climate change is real and we need to be able to understand the complexities and challenges that our environment will face as a result,” said Senator Gillibrand, a member of the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee. “The Climate Change Education Act would help equip our schools with the tools they need to help students understand the science behind climate change and help them become a part of the solution to this global threat. I will always work to defend the environment, and I urge my colleagues to join me in supporting this bill.”

The Climate Change Education Act is sponsored by U.S. Senator Edward Markey (D-MA) and is also cosponsored by U.S. Senators Kamala Harris (D-CA), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Chris Van Hollen (D-MA), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), and Patrick Leahy (D-VT). Congresswoman Debbie Dingell introduced companion legislation in the House of Representatives.

This legislation is endorsed by the Campaign for Environmental Literacy, North American Association for Environmental Education, Alliance for Climate Education, Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education, National Center for Science Education, EarthDay Network, Union of Concerned Scientists, National Recreation and Park Association, National Science Teachers Association, and the National Wildlife Federation.