Press Release

Senator Gillibrand Announces 2015 Service Academy Nominations From Upstate New York

Feb 13, 2015

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand, a member of the Senate Armed Services Committee, today announced her nominations of Upstate New Yorkers to the nation’s leading service institutions – the United States Air Force, Military, Naval and Merchant Marine Academies.

A selection committee formed by Senator Gillibrand chose the nominees from a large group of qualified applicants. Decisions were based on criteria including: academic record, leadership potential, and overall achievement. Final acceptance is determined solely by the service academies.

“These talented upstate New Yorkers have the distinct core values and unique skillsets that will make them great assets to our nation’s service academies and armed forces,” said Senator Gillibrand. “Our service academies cultivate top tier officers who are committed to serving our country. I am hopeful that these accomplished nominees will pursue their dreams and serve in our nation’s armed forces with honor and distinction.” 

The United States service academies offer a first class education as well as a chance for young people to serve our country upon graduation, as commissioned officers in the United States Armed Services.

Senator Gillibrand’s nominees are listed by their hometown and Academies: 


Western New York

  • Rachel Golding (Orchard Park, Erie County) –US Air Force Academy

Rochester-Finger Lakes Region

  • Rosalyn Louk (Rush, Monroe County)-US Military Academy
  • Wyatt Smith (Honeoye Falls, Monroe County)-US Naval Academy

Southern Tier

  • Jacob Malloy (Big Flats, Steuben County) – US Air Force Academy
  • Nawshin Kabir (Kirkwood, Broome County)-US Naval Academy

Central New York Region

  • Rachel Fairbanks (Jamesville, Onondaga County)-US Naval Academy
  • Mary Morocco (Marcellus, Onondaga County)-US Naval Academy
  • Madison Tikalsky (Lee Center, Oneida County)-US Air Force Academy
  • Shawn Picciott (Syracuse, Onondaga County)-US Merchant Marine Academy

Capital Region

  • Blake Basmajian (Corinth, Saratoga County)- US Military Academy
  • Benjamin Denn (Voorheesville, Albany County)- US Military Academy
  • James MacKrell (Delmar, Albany County)- US Military Academy
  • James Ferenczy (Coxsackie, Greene County)-US Air Force Academy
  • James Homan II (Clifton Park, Saratoga County)- US Merchant Marine Academy

Hudson Valley Region

  • Meaghan McGovern (Congers, Rockland County) – US Military Academy
  • Robertson “Bo” Phillips (Chappaqua, Westchester County)- US Military Academy
  • Kyle Waters (Highland Falls, Orange County)- US Military Academy
  • India June (Nyack, Rockland County)-US Naval Academy
  • Meng Hsuan Lee (Garnerville, Rockland County)-US Naval Academy
  • Benjamin Smith (Katonah, Westchester County)-US Naval Academy
  • Brenna Chen (Pelham, Westchester County)-US Air Force Academy
  • Ezra Hornik (Yonkers, Westchester County)-US Air Force Academy
  • Samantha Reed (Cornwall on Hudson, Orange County)-US Air Force Academy
  • Matthew Bosse (New Windsor, Orange County)-US Merchant Marine Academy